Activity 4 Part 2

by Guillermo Bautista Jr

Hi everyone. Here’s my answer for Activity 4 Part 2. I hope you enjoy.

a. How would you describe your teaching perspectives prior to your reading of the module resources? How would you compare your prior conceptions about learning and teaching to the ideas discussed in the resources of this module? What factors influenced your conceptions about teaching and learning?

Before reading Module 4, I was a person who would probably ignore the social and emotional aspects of teaching and learning. I was mostly concerned about the cognitive part of teaching and learning and my interest was finding the best way to teach a particular topic so that students can maximize their learning. I think this perspective originated from my background in pure mathematics where rigorous cognitive training was given the utmost importance.

Resource 2 which is about Social-Emotional Learning widened my perspective about teaching and learning and its affective side. Now, I know that teaching is not just about the knowledge that students learn but also about the environment as well as the social and emotional aspects of students which include as self awareness, social awareness, relationship management, and many others.

b. Have your perspectives’ changed after studying the module resources? How or how not?

Yes, my perspectives have certainly changed. First, reading about the contemporary theories of learning made me realize that teaching is the most complicated job. Second, Resource 2 which is about social and emotional learning is new to me. I learned that teachers have to consider both the emotional and social aspects of students’ learning in order to maximize learning in the classroom. I will particularly re-read and refer back to the 10 teaching practices that promote students’ learning in my future teaching endeavors.

c. How willing or open are you in challenging your prior conceptions about teaching and learning, and applying contemporary teaching perspectives and approaches that would better serve the need of the students for more holistic and active learning?

I am very willing to learn new conceptions that will improve my teaching. Maybe, if I have read this module 10 years ago, I would probably shrug them off and say no. But having 15 years of teaching experience prior to reading the modules made me appreciate the theories because I can relate many of them to my teaching experience. I am certain that I will read more and will reflect on how these new learning can be integrated to my work as a teacher.

d. Which among the contemporary teaching perspectives and approaches discussed in this module resonates with you? Why?

Cognitive constructivism is one of the teaching perspectives that I am interested. I agree that students construct their own meaning of the knowledge we teach in the classroom (Wilson & Peterson, 2006). That means that if we have 30 students, the worst case scenario is 30 interpretations.

The cognitive constructivist perspective is important because it shows that teachers need to create an environment where they can clarify students’ thinking. This means that teachers need to make students think and communicate their thinking to the class so that the whole class can agree or disagree if the thinking is correct. It is the teachers job to mediate these discussions.

e. Knowing your inclination for specific teaching perspectives, how can you ensure that you will not fall into the trap of a one-size-fits-all teaching and that you will observe the teaching principles as intellectual and varied work – “adopting appropriate teaching roles to support learning goals” (Eberly Center, 2015)?

Knowing that teaching is a varied work reminds me to use different strategies grounded on theories of learning, experience, students’ abilities, and other factors. With the further reinforcement of my constructivist frame of mind, I know that there is no single way to teach effectively.

Reference

Wilson, S. M., & Peterson, P. L. (2006).Theories of learning and teaching: What
do they mean for educators?. Washington,DC: National Education Association.

This entry was posted in Miscellany and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

