My realizations about reflection

I have realized a lot of things after reading Module 1. When I did Task 1 Part 1 of Activity 1, I noted my definition of reflection before reading the module. My definition was as follows.

Reflection is thinking about an event and analyzing why it happened as well as its future consequences.

My definition has some similarities with the definition in the text. Moon(2005); for example, defined reflection as a form of mental processing that we use to fulfill a purpose or to achieve some anticipated outcome. She also mentioned that reflection is used to gain a better understanding of complicated ideas.

Below are some parallel words and phrases between Moon definition and explanations and mine, respectively.

mental processing – thinking
gain better understanding –analyzing
fulfill a purpose – consequences

One of the most important things I learned from this module about reflection is putting yourself outside a situation and looking at that situation from multiple perspectives gives you a better understanding of the situation at hand.

After all the readings, I decided to adapt Moon’s definition as it is more general and more encompassing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

